The LEGO Idea Conference 2021 More information to come

Winners before 2015

Since 1985, the LEGO® Prize has been awarded to individuals or organisations that have made an outstanding contribution to the lives of children and are champions of learning through play. Find out who has been awarded with the prize before 2015.

2013 | Johann Koss, Norway for the impact he has had on children’s lives through sport and play

2011 | Sir Ken Robinson, UK for his strong opinions on creativity, innovation and education

2010 | Nicolas Negroponte, USA for his One Laptop per Child project

2008 | Dean Kamen, USA for his passionate commitment to the non‑profit organisation FIRST

1997 | Papalote – Museo del Niño, MEX for expanding the Papalote activities outside Mexico City

1996 | Paul Newman and Joanne Woodward, USA for The Hole in the Wall Gang Camp for incurably ill children, in Conneticut

1995 | Su-Nam Kin and SaekDong Organisation, Korea for popularizing recitals and story-telling in Korea

1994 | Norbert Radermacher, D for their work with children’s theater

1994 | Folker Tegtthoff, A for using fairy tales in teaching

1993 | Jean-Claude Brès, CH for “Ecole Active de Malagnou”, their work on education and development

1993 | Vekerdy Tamás, H for establishing an independent school, teaching Rudolf Steiner

1992 | Loris Malaguzzi, I for the Reggio Emilia educational methods for pre-school children

1992 | “luventa”, SK for a children´s farm and an outdoor play area

1991 | “Children’s Centre of Rest and Sport”, P for a holiday camp for children escaping polluted urban air

1991 | John Feierabend, USA for providing scholarships for students at the Hartt School of Music, Hartford University

1990 | “Assiciacão Santa Teresinha”, BRA for rebuilding and improving a boarding school for orphaned children in São Paulo

1990 | Julemærke Kommiteen, DK for maintenance and improvements of the four “Julemærkehjem”

1989 | Mario Lodi, I for pioneer and educationalist to establish “Casa della Arti e del Gioco” in Padana

1989 | Rafael and Alla Goldin, N for equipping the top floor of Barnkunstmuseum in Oslo.

1989 | “Aktion Friedensdorf”, G for establishing a workshop in Kabul, Afghanistan manufacturing artificial arms and legs to children, injured in the war

1988 | Ecole d´Humanité, CH for rebuilding of international educational centr

1988 | Alberto Muñíz Sánchez, S for artist, circus expert and educationalist to extend his school town (CEMU)

1987 | Børns Vilkår, DK for setting up a children’s telephone – a free hotline

1987 | Francoise Dolto, F for the centre for deaf children and a project for families near Paris

1987 | Werner Otto Institute, D for equipment to be used in its work with children suffering from epilepsy

1986 | Astrid Lindgren Foundation “Solkatten”, S for a complete catalogue of children´s literature of the past 400 years

1986 | Bruno Munari, I Italian designer and educator to buy video equipment to support research on children´s creativity

1985 | Save the Children, UK for the School for handicapped in Khemisset in Marocco and “Trinity House” Family Centre, Manchester